Down goes Evie! Down goes Evie!

“You’re gonna eat lightning, and you’re gonna crap thunder!”
Mickey Goldmill
Rocky

On Monday, this happened:


Okay, everybody calm down.  She’s fine.  You can hardly see it anymore.  Look, folks, all I can tell you is this is the chance you take when you step in that ring.

I kid.

What really happened is that poor little Evie got a faceful of terrible when she stepped in front of an occupied swing at Gloria’s.  Gloria had warned all her little ones to be careful around the swings and especially not to step in front of them.  But, you’ll remember that Evie is my child and just, you know, had to see what would happen.  Obviously, she found out.

It’s okay, though.  She needed another injury to add to the collection growing on her body.  Let’s see, there are at least three bruises on her legs, a pretty bad scrape on her thumb, three bugbite scars on her cheek (see photo) and several little warning nicks on her arms from our cat, Roxie.  I can’t seem to get across to Evie that she continues to annoy Roxie at her own peril.  Hard-headed Evie is still determined to be friends.  Again, because she is my child.

Yet, with all the bruises, bumps, black eyes and dirty fingernails, there are still requests for pretty dresses, Disney Princess hairclips and toenails painted pink.  So, while Evie did beat the crap out of a little boy two years her senior last week, she did it in sparkly Tinkerbell tennis shoes. 

And I gotta tell ya:  I love every single thing about that.

9 thoughts on “Down goes Evie! Down goes Evie!

  1. YIKES! Poor baby…and I want to hear more about the boy she took on!

    She is not only your child, she is also Gill’s…and he was never without wounds. His adventuresome spirit scared us more often than not…and, he made it through his childhood.

    I suspect she will, as well!

    Kisses to her boo boo’s!

  2. @Mimi:

    The propensity towards woundage she may have gotten from Gill, but I think the hard-headedness and determination to find-out-for-myself-damnit mostly came from me!

    @Noni:

    Okay, so maybe the woundage came from my side, too!

  3. Yes-seems he was in the emergency room many times. But… I am thinking that he was not hard headed! Maybe that came from Granny-lol!

  4. No use to add that Katie’s mother used to scrape the meat off her knees at least twice a month; with her glasses on, she got hit in the face with a kickball, and Katie herself once decided to test out her father’s exhaust pipes. Ahh, childhood and the assorted injuries that are associated with it. You go Evie.

  5. I suspect some of the hardheadness came from at least Gill’s side of the family, iif not from Gill himself…though you certainly know it could have come from him, at least a little bit! I admit to my own “do it my way or not at all” way of thinking!

  6. I was not hard-headed but I did get hurt a lot – broken fingers, broken ankle, busted teeth, baseball bat to the head and so on… I hope little Evie heals fast. Tell her I love her so.

Leave a Reply

