Dear Liberry:

My name is Evie Langston, and I live down the street from you in my house with my mommy, my daddy, my toys and my chocolate milk.  I have been inside of you one time, Liberry, when my mommy took me with her to vote.  She said I was the world’s smallest Democrat, and all the ladies laughed and told me I was pretty.  Then we went to look at books.  Mommy put a bunch in my stroller and told me we could take them home to read.  I  started chewing on one while I waited for her to finish.  Mommy saw me, her eyes got really big, and she took the book away.  I chew on all my books, Liberry, but Mommy didn’t tell me we had to bring yours back to you!  So Mommy gave a Liberry Lady some money for the book and I got to keep it anyway and that’s my story about you.

Mommy and I were happy when she told me that when I got older, we could walk to you and do a lot of fun things.  She told me about when she was a Little Kid and how her Liberry was her favorite place to go.  There was a nice Liberry Lady there named Leslie who used to help her pick out books.  Leslie read Mommy and the other Little Kids stories and did the voices and put the stickers on the Summer Reading scorecards for every book they read.  If Mommy got enough stickers, she got a coupon for a free pizza all to herself.  I love pizza.

Then Mommy was a Big Girl, and she stopped going upstairs to the Little Kids section and stayed downstairs in the Big People section.  Mommy says the Big People are very quiet and don’t chew on their books.  She told me she looked at scary books about sharks and ghosts and found magazine stuff about something called The Monkees.  Sometimes her grandmother would let her take home as many books as she could carry and then take Mommy to get ice cream.  I love ice cream, too.

I was very excited about doing all of these things when we come see you.  But yesterday Mommy was sad.  She told me some Very Important People are going to close you because they don’t have enough money to help you.  Mommy said some bad words that I can’t say and then was sad some more.  I am sad, too.  I don’t have any money, but Daddy said we send the Very Important People enough money anyway, so he doesn’t know what the problem is.  Do you know what the problem is, Liberry?

Mommy wrote a bunch of letters and talked on the phone.  She’s trying to make them not close you.  She told me she can’t imagine what it would be like for me to grow up without you.  Since I’m still a Little Kid I don’t know either, but I wanted to write a letter to you anyway to help Mommy.  

I don’t want you to close, Liberry.  I want to come see you and read books and hear stories about sharks and ghosts and vote and eat pizza and ice cream.  Tell the Very Important People that you need to stay open so Little Kids and Big People can have fun.  Okay?  Okay.

Love,
Evie

P.S.  Readers, click here if you want to help, too.
          — Love, Evie’s mommy

3 thoughts on “Dear Liberry:

  1. Sweet little girl. I will walk all the way to the Cameron Village Liberry if we have to! But until then, SAVE THE LIBERRY!

  2. Hey Evie- I’ll talk to those mean old Very Important People (must be a bunch of Republicans) and tell them not to close down your liberry.

  3. Evie –

    My Mommy read me your Mommy’s post that you wrote…wow, you are much deeper than you let on when we are playing blocks together…I think I may have a crush on you.

    I haven’t visited the liberry as much as you have yet for two reasons:
    1. you have three months on me and at this age, that’s a lot of time, sista…and
    2. my parents are on a park kick right now…swings and slides…yippee!

    But, I know my parents also want to save the liberry so you and I can go with other kids to story time and pick out new, favorite books.

    I don’t think they will let the liberry go away…who would really do that?? But if they do, you can come to my house and grab a Dr. Suess book. My Mommy and Daddy must know this guy because we have every book he ever wrote.

    Hope to see you soon, Evie!

    Fisher

Leave a Reply

