Words and steps and, lord, we need to go shoe shopping now, I suppose

Evie’s daddy and I are so proud, and also somewhat embarrassed, to announce that Evie’s first real-real word has been spoken.  And that word is…”balls”.

Thaaaaat’s right.

Other possiblities Evie could have chosen:

1.  Onomatopoeia

2.  Zimbabwe

3.  I-am-a-genius-child

But, alas, no.  It is “balls.”  Sigh.

It’s okay.  Evie is a genius child, after all.  Not only does she say it, she knows what they are. 

Aaaaand let’s all pull our minds out of the gutter for a moment, shall we?  

Ahem.  

Grapes are “balls”.  The big red things outside of that blessed place of our redemption Target, are “balls”.  And, wonder of all wonders, even balls are “balls”.  So, we’re good on shapes, then.  And, also, she knows where her head is (which is more than I can say for some), where her nose is and sometimes she even knows where her eyes are.  We’ve heard a few “eye” ‘s but are hesitant to count them.  Today she pointed to the small crack of space between the bathroom door’s hinge and the doorjamb and declared “eye”!  So.

Walking is going well, too.  Gill counted a full ten steps yesterday.   I know, I know.  I hear ya.

 “For the sweet love of ‘balls’, would you please post some video!” 

I promise dear readers.  I promise.  Unfortunately, I, unlike Evie, have trouble finding my head 99% of the time.

Balls!

Her next words?  “Parental emancipation, please.”

6 thoughts on “Words and steps and, lord, we need to go shoe shopping now, I suppose

  1. An official word – that’s awesome!!! I can’t wait to hear Fisher use words and know what his voice will sound like. We can’t wait to see you guys next weekend. Maybe we’ll fix something round so she can use her new-found word on us.

  2. gotta tell you…walking was way beyond 10 steps tonight. She is now walking more than she crawls…what a difference 24 hours makes! I think she is officially launched!!

  3. Robbie’s first word was ball too-but he called it “dawl”. We also called it that for years. You will do the same with Eve when she says a word a different way. It’s what Mom’s do!!!!

  4. I am such a moron! In my sleep-deprived state on Saturday, I didn’t realize the significance of hearing her say “ball!” I was like, “Oh yeah, Evie said a word!” not realizing that it was more like “OMG, Evie said a WORD!!!!!!!!” Go Evie!

    I’m fully expecting Daniel’s first words to be something awful from Law & Order SVU like “rape kit” or “semen.” LOL

  5. BALLS!!!! God, I love it!!!! Hit them balls, Evie!!! Teach her to say Boche and everyone will be impressed.
    Keep it up girlfriend Evie and my Jersey Boy friends can help you….yeah….dat’s right. Der ain’t nuthin them boys don’t know ’bout.
    Capice?

Leave a Reply

